Senioritis And The Future

Standard

Now that the sun is starting to pop out more and the birds are chirping, it can only mean one thing: spring is almost here. With that, comes the dreadful senioritis; you know, that feeling of procrastination and wanting school to be over (because after this semester, you won’t have to worry about homework and tests and whatnot [if you’re not planning on going to Grad school]). 

I, for one, am not 100% sure yet on what I want to do. Grad school is most definitely in my plans, but I just don’t know for sure what kind of grad school I want to attend. So far, nothing has gotten my full-on attention. I would like to continue my studies along the lines of Applied Linguistics or French (even though my French is a bit rusty, this’ll allow me to further expand on it and be able to use it better). This, of course, would then help with my writing and grammar (it never hurts to improve!).

Since this is my last semester, I’m a bit relieved that it is not as strenuous as semesters past. I’m only taking 4 classes (compared to 6 before), so I hope that I won’t feel so burned out. I love my classes, they’re all so interesting. My favorite one has got to be Internet Linguistics – the class is super small (we’re talking about 8-9 people), and it’s mostly a discussion-led course. We read a ton, but thankfully the reading material is not too dense and confusing. It reads just like as a normal conversation, which I love! 

The toughest class so far is the journalism class. Having to come up with good story ideas is a bit daunting. Once you have an idea of what you wish to write about, you have to see how much data you need, and how you’ll be able to obtain it, etc., etc. Will you need graphs, statistics, maps? If not, how will you be able to prove what you’re saying

I know that we can obtain some information through the Freedom of Information Act (I’ve seen it mentioned in articles again and again). I would like to try and do so when I write one of my articles, I just have to figure out how [in a timely manner].

I guess right now, I’m going to do my **best** and concentrate on doing all of my required assignments in a timely manner. This, of course, is if I don’t get lazy or am distracted by some other pretty thing. As an incentive, I’m going to try and reward myself with a trip (I love to travel) if I can finish all of my studies with good grades.

And on that note, I leave you with a wonderful picture that I took during my travels. It always brings back great memories!

The Eiffel Tower [La Tour Eiffel à Paris; C’est très belle! J’espère la voir encore.]

Leave a comment